December 28, 2001 3:13 AM

We finished watching The Ice Storm and American Beauty, finally. Both amazing films, but I obviously knew the greatness of the latter. The Ice Storm, with an unusually talented cast, was released in 1997, and, to my knowledge, went relatively unrecognized. If you enjoy films with insightful social commentary, offbeat humor, and thought-provoking ideas, you should unquestionably rent this.

Thinking today, I came to a few conclusions on myself and life. Dillusional, yes, but an amusing result of late night movie indulgences and intellectual discussion.

1. I am frank with myself. I find resolve in recognizing and understanding my downfalls, ignorance, and generally repulsive aspects of myself. I'm not sure why, because it's certainly not to correct them. My guess is that it's done in the pursuit to live sentiently, but this is said from an obviously biased vantage point.

2. The only aspect of humans which can be regarded for its true singularity is the mind. The experiences, opinions, and emotions which it is composed of is of the utmost uniquity, and cannot be repeated.

3. I am basically, and unintentionally, aligned with existentialism. To a certain extent, at least.

I lost my train of thought. Bah. It wasn't anything revolutionary, anyway, just as this above isn't. Why I even bother to write down, I don't know.