March 2, 2002 2:56 PM

Yesterday I went to the first show at a club in nearly a month and a half. When I walked in there was some awful punk band playing, which I was glad to find were just finishing their last song. Following them were Three Is Company, who play odd discordant indie noise- at least that's what I call it. This time you could actually distinguish melodies in their songs, and them being in tune actually mattered. I tried to sleep through it, but at 85 decibels it can be difficult. After that, another horrendous band followed, formerly known as Bleed Bitch Bleed, formerly The Nothing, and now I have no what they're called. But basically, they're pop punk that's trying to be indie rock; it's painfully apparent by way of their vocalist, who's tight black sweater and jeans were so cliche' it made me gag. Too bad it didn't help his horrible singing ability. I left at that point, ate a sandwich from the convenience store, and went back in as the next act, Teradactyl, were about to play. They were great, of course. They're very palatable, and I got a decent bootleg of them. Following them were Hutchinson, who played an extremely short four song set, coming to a quite climatic finish. Finally, the headlining act, Hot Hot Heat, visiting from Canada, graced the stage. They dressed well, in some kind of 60's style, and were all tall and thin. I'd have to admit I was skeptical about how good they would be, but that quickly left me as I got into the very rocking staccato rhythms of their music. The vocalist sounded like a screechy version of Robert Smith of the Cure, but in an awkwardly pleasant way. As far as genre placement, they totally defied all borders; I truthfully couldn't place my finger on their influences at all. It had that sort of dark tone to it, but still retained great melodies, amazing crescendos, and an powerful energy, while remaining interesting throughout. I was impressed, and pleased to see such an original act visit here, not to mention a lot of fun.

Also, at that same show, a member of Persephone Myth approached me, asking me if I'd like to play bass for their band. It was a very odd situation, the whole concept of them recruiting someone, and I imagined the total alienation I'd experience trying to work with them if I were to join, and you can't produce art if that exists. I reluctantly gave him my email address, but I'll undoubtedly decline from joining.

My friend and I have decided to become a duo instead of having a drummer, since the complications of practicing together were too much. We'll be a Simon & Garfunkle deal, with our acoustic guitars. It'll be interesting.