November 30, 2001 5:16 PM

George Harrison died. That's very sad...

I didn't get to see the movie I wanted to, it being Amelie. They refused to sell me a ticket because it was rated R, because I'm not 17. Well fuck them. They'll see in a month and 8 days that I'll be able to view any film regardless of those obscene bowdlerizing laws.

Even though that didn't go well, I did happen to drop by the music store nearby. They have this great sale going on, selling many, many used CDs, though most obscure, for ridiculously cheap prices. As I flipped through the albums I had never heard of, one particularly got my attention. The album cover, cheaply zeroxed onto light blue paper, had no title, but just a gritty photo of a young boy on a grassy hill. The back also had nothing written on it, just another photo of a group of kids on the same hill. The edge of the CD simply read "Rare Avis. Ironies." It was strange enough for me to buy it, figuring I had nothing to lose anyway at 95 cents.

When I finally reached home, I popped the samely-colored blue CD into my computer and listened. I was surprised to find that it was actually good, this sort of indie rock sound. Not bad for 95 cents, not bad at all. In the pamphlet it says they were from Lafayette, Louisiana, saying that it was produced in 1997. The website mentioned is no longer functioning, nor are they on any search engine. Quite amazing. I came to the stupid conclusion that there is music that is exclusively in album form. It intrigued me enough that I'll be going back tomorrow to find some other CDs.

Anyway, I'm currently listening to Rare Avis (obviously), Clint Mansell (Requiem For A Dream soundtrack), and. Uh. That's about it.

Wow, Kristina. You wrote that? Jesus.