December 13, 2001 7:34 PM

I just overheard on the news today that "they believe to have cornered Osama Bin Laden in the mountains." Great. As if capturing (and quite probably slaughtering) him will change anything.

The featured article in the Honolulu Weekly, the only independent, liberal newspaper here, was about the recent reprecussions from the World Trade Center attacks and its effect on our civil rights, available here. It was quite a piece, going into great detail about the FOIA (Freedom of Information Act), the USA Patriot Act, the tribulations certain liberal outspoken citizens. I was aware of what sort of occurances were happening, but to what extend, I only had a vague idea. This clarified it, and it brought me the realization that this is much more serious than I had thought. And, as an adamant believer in the upholding of our rights, this enraged, and at the same time, shamed me. I need to keep on top of these issues much more- get some sort of alternative publication, read it online, or something. I hope a demonstration concerning this is occurring locally, because I definitely will be there.

Anyway, aside from that political fire which was lit in my loins (or whereever they start), I really did nothing today besides school. The weather was nasty, with very high winds and constant rain. I need a jacket of some sort. I also dropped by the library to pick up some books which I need for my research paper, buying a copy of 1984 and A Wrinkle In Time at the used book store, both of which I hadn't read yet. Those are saviors, because of the ridiculous price of paperbacks these days. And, besides the books on Buddhism, I borrowed one called Terror In The Mind Of God, a title on on religious violence. And no, it was published before the attacks, not after.

There's a show tomorrow, but it's far away at someone's home. I'm not sure if I can get there, but Ivan Klipstein, the visiting indie band from Winsconsin, Teradactyl, an emo band, and Persephone Myth, another emo band I believe, are playing. Sounds delicious.

That's all I can think of for now.