December 21, 2001 11:03 PM

After a somewhat unfulfilling McDonald's breakfast (yes, I have sinned), I went down with my aunt and uncle to the local swap meet. At first, it was interesting, with odds and ends, but after the first half hour it got repetitious. I noticed that, after the first 10 or so vendors, the items reappeared again, and again, and again. It was so intensely boring. Then I also began to notice that many of the items were ridiculously cheaply made; there was this one particular turtle-shaped wood clock, stained on the front, which look relatively nice, but when one turned it over to the back, it looked like plywood glued together. There was also a bag with the label "Sokosport", the logo looking supiciously similar to that of Jansport's. Many of the items looked dusty and quite old, and just altogether badly constructed and made. My ending impression of the place was basically that it was a large congregation of shady dealers who try to sell naive customers fifteenth-rate products. I admit, there were a few respectable stands, but most were just hideous. My dehydration and slightly dillusional state didn't help it much either.

Much later, I headed down to the show. Persephone Myth were the first act, who I had not seen before; they were alright. The elegantly flamboyantly dressed female vocalist didn't strike me as amazing, her voice being, quite frankly, kind of dull. Hutchinson, who followed them, I had seen once before, but I wasn't really into indie back then, so this was a new experience for me. They play a sort of mix between the Get-Up Kids and Cap'n Jazz, and generally were good. I'd like to see them again. Then there was Ivan Klipstein. That in itself was worth my $5 I paid to enter. He was tall and thin, with a mess of brown curls on his head covered by a bright orange cap, wearing a strangely patterned oversized shirt, creased pants, and dress shoes. I had expected an entire band, but it turns out it was just him. Then it began. He used his vocals in a percussive and dub manner as he played his guitar, sounding strikingly like a drum machine and a turntable. He had a great voice, with a great range, and was very, very capable with his guitar. His eclectic combination of hip hop, dub, and an unidentifiable flavor of rock was entirely original and captivating. Unfortunately, I had not the $10 required to purchase an album from him, but I will order it as soon as those funds are acquired. I was so lucky to have bootlegged the show, and I probably will eventually post it later as soon as I transpose it into .mp3 format.

I bought a magazine with an Radiohead interview. I have still yet to look through it.