January 3, 2002 5:30 PM

Oh, how I despise school. It is so very, very painful. Stop. Please.

Seems it's fairly official that I'm part of a band titled "The 100-Years War"; no, the added plural of 'years' is no accident. It's composed of myself, on bass, a friend on guitar, and another friend on drums. The guitarist, who goes to school with me, basically conceived and is driving the band. He has the idea of what we should sound like, our ambiance at shows, et cetera. Mostly the problem I have with the band name is that he's been tossing around on the local message board, saying that we'll, somehow, finally give the scene something worth listening to. I'm not at all for building us up before we even have a band, let alone material. And this is not to mention the fact that he's acquired quite a few enemies fairly quickly, which will, probably, transcend to the rest of the band. I don't want to be put in the same arrogance and elitist light as he's in, though it doesn't seem to be of much consequence to him.