June 23, 2002 6:25 PM

I'm listening to Green Day's Warning album, and it's invoking the strangest sensations. You probably don't know this, but I used to be the most obsessive Green Day fan to walk this planet. Dookie was one of the first tapes I owned far back in 4th grade, and my attraction to the band continued well into my freshman year of high school. Then within the next two years my interest dropped out suddenly, and hadn't picked it up since. I'm not sure if I'm enjoying it for it's reminisencent significance or because it's actually good. It has had too much of a seamless existence with my life to make such a distinguishment. In fact, I'm not even sure if I'm enjoying it. I don't particular feel receptive to it; it gives a sensation that feels almost novocaine-induced. Or maybe I don't want to like it, because that would taint my "indie credibility."

Fucking teenage issues.