June 10, 2003 9:51 PM

I went to the dentist's for fillings. Absolute hell, it was. Maybe it was insufficient novocaine, but I felt my nerves tingling uncomfortably as they drilled. Coupled with the stench of burning teeth and terribly aching jaw muscles (it took at least an hour), it made for an experience as pleasant as taking a stroll in the park with your kneecaps smashed. (Okay, maybe that's a bit of an exaggeration, but boy, at the time, I wanted to shoot myself in the face to just end it quickly.) It didn't help either that all the dentist assistants were standing around watching since the office was closing - get some popcorn and a cola while you're at it, why don't ya? And, as luck has it, I get to do it all over again next week.

Tomorrow I plan to wheatpaste an ambiguous image of a smiling girl all about the island. Hopefully my friend's willing to drive me and the cops are sleepy.