June 13, 2003 6:21 PM

I accomplished most of what I planned - tried to try out the guitar, which was a waste of time, then had myself a nice sandwich and my free coffee. They forgot my shot of espresso, for the second time, but the trouble of complaining wasn't worth getting another. I didn't turn up anything interesting at the antique shop. I guess I'm going to have to wait until I get to Washington to accumulate junk; I'm hoping to rent some kind of hole-in-the-wall place where I can set up a rag-tag "studio" for myself, with a massive array of instruments - banjos, pianos, guitars, accordions, drums - anything really, just enough things to mess around with. I recorded a gross version of "Vegetables" on my 4-track.

Boy, this sounds scarily like a journal entry. Because, you know, it shouldn't.