October 27, 2003 7:42 PM

Arguing. Seriously. It's my narcotic. Granted, it stinks (ha-ha I'm pun-ny) in baking fresh friends and keeping them from going stale, but it's a thrill when you formulate those great lines that insult in that underhanded, properly restrained manner. Besides, theses (a.k.a. 'thesises', 'thesisii'...who thinks these plurals up) that are in stiff opposition to the book are quicker to write than those in agreeance.

London Calling? Yes. Telemarketers calling? No. So are the joys of telephonelessness.

(I wonder, if I were to salvage all my favorite thoughts, short assemblages of words, and invented colloquialisms from this diary, if I could construct a book using them. Hell, I put so much effort into this already that it would only make sense. It would be rambling, incoherent, self-indulgent, a mess -- totally great. Something to think about...)