March 3, 2004 6:27 PM

A rather intense hour. It was the academic fair, where professors pitch their courses to students for next quarter. I visited three -- 'Algebra and Algorithms' (programming, introductory mathematics and theory), 'Imagining Books' (bookbinding, history and future of books, design), and 'Illustrations of Character' (classical studies/ethics, literature). Oddly enough, I'm slightly inclined towards Algebra and Algorithms, even though math has never been my strong point. Maybe that's why I'm intrigued. The faculty seemed pleasant. I realized I don't like the idea of doing art in school (as with Imagining Books) -- time constraints just don't seem right for genuine things of self-expression -- and Illustrations of Character may be all right, but for some reason I have some inexplicable skepticism about it. In any case, I'll be doing something quite different than the last two quarters -- not that anything could really be like them. I find these choices of direction to be difficult, since I have no conception of what kind of degree I want to walk away with yet.

All right, meal time.