June 11, 2005 5:18 PM

So I finally have a amplifier to play my records -- a big-knob shiny JVC A-X2. It has a usable EQ on it, as well. I also got a few records at the same sale: Elvis Costello's Armed Forces, Scritti Politti's Cupid & Psyche 85 (apparently a fairly common one), a couple Neil Young records that I should've had (Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere, After the Gold Rush), Miles Davis's In A Silent Way, a Miles Davis Sextet/Thelonious Monk Quartet split Miles & Monk At Newport, Beegees' Main Course (don't laugh, it at the very least has "Jive Talkin'" on it), an apparently less-than-common the Mireille Mathieu record En Direct De L'Olympia with Spanish liner notes and track titles, and a relatively beat-up copy of the Rolling Stones' The Rolling Stones, Now!. Oh, and I can't forget the copy of Prince's Dirty Mind -- glad I found that one.

Other than that, home's been OK.