June 19, 2005 9:46 AM

So I've basically decided that Iggy Pop made the Strokes' albums a couple decades ago: it was called Lust For Life. Distorted vocals? Angular guitar? Vocal swagger? All there. I don't hate the Strokes for it, but you know...Lust For Life is bigger and better.

I've been sleeping quite hard the last couple nights. I have extremely intense dreams, except I can't remember a whole lot about them. Last night I dreamt about cats. Again. According to the standard dream-symbol archetypes, that means I'm a weirdo.

I've also started Murakami's Wind-Up Bird Chronicle. A surprisingly speedy read, although I'm still grappling with where exactly it's going. It's also kind of strange to read something translated from modern Japanese; it feels practically American, with only an occasional indication that you're reading about Japanese people, mostly through what they eat. Anyway, it's holding my interest.