June 25, 2005 9:58 PM

Apparently when I refused to help my friend fabricate a drug test given to him by his parents, he ended up in short-term rehab. I didn't really ask him further about it. Before he went in, he seemed under control, even if his usage was habitual and went slightly beyond just pot. Drug addiction is confusing and mysterious to me.

I finished Murakami's Wind-Up Bird Chronicle with remarkable speed -- 610 pages in less than four-days time. I also read Camus' The Stranger. I need to look it over again. I have at hand Jeff Chang's Can't Stop, Won't Stop: A History of the Hip-Hop Generation and Nick Hornby's High Fidelity. I'm not sure about either -- I don't know anything about hip hop, and my tolerance for reading about quirky music geekry is low, even though I count myself amongst those types. We'll see if either of my apprehensions are warranted. Any reading suggestions are very welcome, I'm mostly running through the library snagging books on arbitrary whim.

The job search is quickly disintegrating. I applied for Blockbuster Video online, which was a serious mistake -- they have an "assessment test" roughly 200 questions long, largely made up of the same 5 questions restated 30 different ways, along with a few bizarre, aggrevatingly ambiguous spinballs, like "Are you lively and energetic at parties?", and "Do get angry when a guilty criminal on trial is set free?" I must have swore over a dozen times. It genuinely feels like being psychologically molested, their devices running along your skin, testing for the slightest (yet absolutely normal) moral inconsistency. Answering honestly doesn't make the process any less torturous; its sheer, idiotic repetitiveness will get you infuriated just the same. I look forward to a career at Blockbuster Video with empty, immaculate eyes. No, really.