August 5, 2006 9:40 PM

Today I did a rather obscene amount of thrifting -- four stores in a day, exclusively for clothes, a total or 3 or so hours I'd bet. I wouldn't normally do that, but I figure not really changing or adding to my dress much for about 2 years warrants it. I've decided my clothed self needs a revision. It's been a lot harder than I thought. I'm trying for The Who circa 1965 with a James Dean insouciance, combined with a self-imagined 60's mathematician chic -- which might explain my difficulty. Previously, I've been about nicely patterned shirts, solid color slacks and jackets, and sneakers, but this new imagined self, by my design, invalidates these habits. That means it takes enormously more thinking for me to figure out what to look for and what works; I haven't established clear guidelines. It's an interesting project for me. Your dress contextualizes yourself to other people, and most importantly to yourself. I think one should never underestimate the power of self-image, and its ability to influence your own emotions and state of mind through its simple reality. I don't know exactly how this will change me, if at all, but there's a certain pleasure in exploring it.