September 10, 2006 9:31 PM

This afternoon and evening, after becoming aggrevated and greeting my grandpa for the first time four times, that postcard was a relief. I was determined to write a friend's song in reply to it. I struggled on it for a long time, finally doing away with the arty pretensions and the electric guitar and went back to the acoustic upon which I had found the little hook I wanted to use. And within an hour, I'd improvised it out and found something entirely different. I had got to that place where I wasn't thinking and conceptualizing anymore, but rather acting on feelings. I rather liked how it turned out! But it isn't something to share. I wrote it for her. It's not a love song, but a heartfelt, if off-colored ode to a person. I found an entire project in it, too. Maybe someday it will be shared. For now, you'll just have to believe me when I say I got to a good place.