December 31, 2006 8:19 PM

"So, any big plans for New Year's?"

"Not really."

"Nothing?"

"I'm going for a jog."

"A jog? That's nothing special."

"I haven't done it in a while. And I'm running around the loop, twice."

"Shuttup. Why don't you shoot fireworks, or drink with friends, something? Celebrate the change. Be unironic, once a year. New Year's is simple, apolitical, philosophically safe. And I know how you like those last two words put together."

"Yeah, I do."

"And I just made that up!"

"I think I heard someone say once, 'if today is exactly the same as Monday, it's still Monday.' I just remembered that, and I didn't really feel like celebrating today. And besides, we're not in Paris or Rio de Janeiro, watching the ball drop, like so many others. What's the point, then?"

"First off: that person was unemployed, living with their parents, eating the same breakfast cereal since they were 14. Not a real go-getter at that point in time. Second: what're you going to do? We're not there. Be here. It takes less imagination to be excited in an unfamiliar, living place. Try be excited in the midst of low expectations and banality. That's hard, respectable work."

"Yeah, OK. I give you that. But still. No friends."

"You got me."

"Of course. Sorry.

"Actually, I just remembered the guy I mentioned was fictional."

"Even worse. Fake fucker."

"So what should we do?"

"I just gave you a couple suggestions."

"OK, let's go bowling."

"No, they're probably closed. And bowling? Did I say that?"

"Right.

...

"I'm kind of tired."

"Tired? It's only 8."

"I actually lied. I went running already. Twice. The loop. You know."

"Well, I guess I can't blame you for that. Oh well. Guess it's fireworks with the sister, then."

"What, no big plans for you?"

"I'm lazy."

"I would laugh, but I can't blame you for that, either.

"Well, I'm going to sleep."

"OK, fine. See you tomorrow."

"See you."