August 9, 2007 9:39 PM



I think I will. I'm sure I'll be able to figure out what to do with a sine wave.

A lot of TV for me today. I watched the entire first season (OK, only 6 episodes long) of Channel 4's Peep Show. Pretty good stuff, much like The Office, in that it gets laughs out of people's social failures. It adds to this effect particularly by letting you hear and see, literally, from the character's perspective, a la John Malkovich (hence the show's name). I find myself pretty sympathetic to the characters, in the same way I rooted for Dawn and Tim in The Office, although these fellows are admittedly a bit more pathetic. I like it! On to season two!

I also managed to watch Valley Girl. How did that happen? I actually downloaded it! I have to admit, it was strangely engrossing, provoking a reptilian-brain sort of satisfaction in how it lets the cool, sexy rebel Nicholas Cage (yeah, I know!) win over the pretty, polite girl. We all want that, right? It's simple and fashionable (I do enjoy the campy new wave affectations), but it's all done so earnestly you can't help but feel delightfully embarassed for it. It's an unironic feel-good teenager movie, playing to all the "universal" teenager concerns (at the emotional forefront, love; at the visual forefront, titillation). In that adolescent regard, and with substance light as foam, it's a keenly honed, sympathetic film. Does it sound like I'm anthologizing it? Maybe! Am I embarassed to? Perhaps! But what can I say, it was fun to watch and did its job, if never again.

Being back home, I find myself feeling like a teenager for the first time in a while, in that I have no responsibilities, and I make very few attempts to claim any. Okay, I do have to pay my rent, and keep tabs on things back in Olympia, to maintain some order and personal sanity -- but here, I hardly accomplish anything! There is no one to meet or satisfy. Time has collapsed, and with it, priorities. It's strange to take time for granted, when you're able to recognize what that means. Right now, the clock tells me not how soon until, but rather how long I have been. It looks infinitely forward, a solid, unmarked line. It's pleasant, and banal, and disconcerting. I'm looking forward to getting my familiar sense of time back when I return to Olympia.