November 14, 2007 11:58 PM

I have a few ideas that I'd like to try out on my next set of recordings.

Firstly, I'm going sing a lot, using this incredibly cheap and durable Sony dictation mic. It sounds great blasting out of my amp, and I can get a lot of sounds out of it.

I'm not going to make much attempt at 'high fidelity.' While high fidelity sounds can be quite pleasing to the ear, I usually find them to be distracting. Detail, not realism, is what I value. No one likes Picasso because he paints realistically, but because he paints attentively.

I would like to use the recording process as a way to rediscover how I hear, and appreciate and experiment with what it can do that I can't do in real-time performance. I'm not going step outside the boundaries of what I conceive to be a "pop song", because this is what I'm most familiar with. But that doesn't mean I won't try to stress out the integrity of the form.

It's my hope that I can commit to this ethic for as long as possible and fully explore everything these ideas have to offer to me presently.