November 10, 2009 1:28 AM

I know, I'm late to this boat by a few decades, but last five minutes of Twin Peaks, episode 29: NO WAY. UH-UH. IMPOSSIBLE. I REFUSE. Some things I just won't accept. Cooper is untouchable. Just gotta believe.

Something unusual happened last night, when I was working on a song. It slowly dawned on me that I flat-out didn't like it. In a way this shouldn't have been surprising, as it was constructed on some rather anemic ideas (not a first, and with many successes), but this one just went unexpectedly putrid on me, so much so I had to just stop. Never happened before.

I haven't been terribly kind to my musical side these days; most of my energy has gone into studio-building. I have this tendency to start a construction project and not be able to stop until it's done. It's satisfying to finish it (which is why I don't stop), but taxing.

On the way home, I imagined this map of flour-based goods:

There's a lot more where that came from.