January 7, 2010 1:16 AM

My ideas seem to be best after they acquire a vintage. I'm listening back to incomplete recordings from 2008, and saying, "oh, of course, yeah, why the hell didn't I finish this? How did I get derailed?" And I just can't go back; it's probably too late, those ideas are stuck in perfect limbo.

You know what I'm thinking? I'm thinking, I hope you lost your cellphone, because you're certainly not calling or texting me back, and I don't have the gall to apologize for that "maybe" which I'm too afraid to address, and too dumb to fully contemplate, and I greatly prefer that you just lose your cellphone.

Gonna quit my job, get in a van, and criss-cross this country for a month and a half: tell me this a bad idea, and it couldn't be any stupider, and I can't shake it, and gonna do it anyway.