August 6, 2011 12:51 AM

My new beautiful 21". Cymbals are paradoxical objects -- simple in form, yet musically vast. Who knew there could be so much in circles of metal?

Summer is moving along at a full clip. I haven't had much time for personal projects but I don't really mind. The sun has come and gone and returned and finally stayed. I no longer wince in the heat but rather relish in sweat. Maybe California still could be for me. Maybe.

A few creative approaches to try:

1. Creating two kinds of objects, like a wheel rim and spoke, with the intention of recombining them to create an unforeseen whole. Objects can be exchanged and combined with friends' objects.

2. Creating objects of maximum internal efficiency, with reusable, modular parts -- making complexity out of the virtue of simplicity.