February 28, 2004 10:49 AM

Yesterday was long.

I began with lunch at 11:30 and A Very Long Engagement.

Now that I think about it, I don't remember what I did between 1:00 and 5:00.

At 6:00 I went down to Apollo's and had fettucine marinara. Still reading.

I went to the Asian market and tried to buy a few things, but the lady put away one of the items for a reason I didn't quite discern. I think she had something about it being not good anymore, or maybe it had something do with the question about me being Vietnamese and answering 'no'. I walked away very confused.

Some kid was screaming lyrics walking away from the mall.

Dropped off my film and picked up a few things at the supermarket.

Took the bus home (still reading) and realized I was exhausted.

Left for the bus again to a get-together.

I wandered for 20 minutes around the apartment complexes until he ended up finding me. A wide-eyed lady kept on watching me every time I walked past her window.

The get-together felt off -- an unsettling atmosphere which I'd rather not elaborate on, the newest "Mortal Kombat" which was equally unsettling, and Pumping Iron. It certainly doesn't make you feel any better about California.

The it was 2 AM, curly fries, walking to my room in my socks, and a crash into bed.